The Good Oil 2021 Writers’ Award winners announced

22 November 2021
Image: Andrew Neel/Unsplash


The Good Oil 2021 Writers’ Award was launched by the Sisters of the Good Samaritan with the aim of supporting and encouraging the development of emerging and published writers. Close to 70 entries were received from writers in Australia and the Philippines, with interest from as far afield as the US.

The judges awarded first prize ($600), second prize ($400) and two highly commended ($100 each).

Congratulations to John Haren for his winning entry, ‘Inclusivity – a political challenge’. John has been engaged in the community sector for more than 30 years, including eight years as CEO of the St Vincent de Paul Society in South Australia.

Second prize was awarded to Ashleigh Donnelly in NSW for her entry ‘A letter to my nine-month-old daughter’. Ashleigh is a social worker who has worked with youth at risk and adults living with intellectual disabilities.

Highly commended were Carmel Lillis in Victoria for ‘Parable for the 21st Century’ and Heather MacKenzie in Queensland for ‘Parable for a pandemic’.

The first and second prize-winning entries were published in this month’s edition of The Good Oil. The highly commended entries will be published in the December 2021 edition.

The judging panel of Monica Dutton, Janette Mentha and Kerry Myers brought their considerable experience as writers and editors to the task. They based their decisions on the entries that best explored the theme Inclusivity. They looked for writing that was topical, engaging, accessible, creative, original, and well written.

The Good Oil’s editorial vision is to nourish the spirit, stimulate thinking, promote social justice, and encourage reflection and dialogue about issues of the day from a Christian, Catholic, Good Samaritan perspective.

The Good Oil is published monthly, except January. Subscription is free.

With thanks to The Good Oil, the e-magazine of the Sisters of the Good Samaritan.


Read Daily
* indicates required